A World In a Grain of Sand

[column class=”left-field”]This the Magic Lantern debut album which we released on 6 June 2011. It was recorded by Dave De Rose and mixed by Leo Abrahams.

Click here for Paypal
OR download our music through to digital sites like: iTunes | Spotify | Play.com | Deezer Amazon
Track Listing:

1. Somebody Told Me
2. Cut From Stone
3. Laura’s Song
4. The Ship That Washed Away
5. Guilty Hearts
6. Shine A Light On
7. Patriots
8. A Man & His Dog
9. Karachi
10. The Bridge
11. Romeo and Juliet (III)


“Bitter sweet, beautiful music”
– Verity Sharp, BBC Radio 3 Late Junction

“A classic album, I love it!”
– Bob Harris, BBC Radio 2

“Outstanding acoustic songwriting”
– Tom Robinson, BBC Radio 6 Music

‎”9/10 – Something quite special, The Magic Lantern have produced a remarkable, enchanting and genuinely affecting album that’s sure to bring them the attention they deserve”
– Planetnotion.com

“**** Beautiful, engrossing music”
– musicOMH.com

“4.5/5 – Wondfully composed”
– Sound Revolution.com[/column][column class=”right-field”][/column][end_columns]

Liner Notes:

The total amount of energy in an isolated system remains constant over time. A consequence of this law is that energy can neither be created nor destroyed; it can only be transformed from one form to another. Nothing comes from nothing. Creativity doesn’t exist in a vacuum. We take inspiration and energy from the world around us and transform it into songs, stories, films, photos, paintings, buildings, sculptures, ideas, conversations and every possible hair brained scheme imaginable. But how fragile the creative process and the creators! Once planted, seeds need nurturing and love , lest all their promise, beauty in potential, wilt in the crowding, claustrophobic jostle for the light.

We need support. An oak tree’s roots are twice as long as the tree is high. For every creative project, there’s a root network of friends and lovers, family and fans, teachers and students, who keep us grounded where the wind would have us on our sides. The band, let alone this album, wouldn’t exist were it not for the continued love and support of our very own root network from whom we continue to draw strength.

To see a world in a grain of sand, where each at first looks identical, is an act of wonder. But it’s all there if you know how to look for it.

This album is dedicated to our friends.

The Magic Lantern
May 2011